Details on Districts in Penang and a Guide to Apply for Inter-District Travels from PDRM

Foodies, today marks the first day of the month-long CMCO and until now, many are still confused of the SOPs. Interstate and inter-district travels are not allowed except with valid documents, and here’s a question many Penangites have: There’s districts in Penang? The answer is yes, Penang, including mainland has 5 districts: Timur Laut, Barat Daya, Seberang Perai Utara, Seberang Perai Tengah and Seberang Perai Selatan.

Breakdown of Districts in Penang:

#1 Timur Laut

  • George Town
  • Pulau Tikus
  • Air Itam
  • Paya Terubong
  • Sungai Pinang
  • Batu Lanchang
  • Batu Ferringhi
  • Tanjung Tokong
  • Tanjung Bungah
  • Pulau Jerejak

#2 Barat Daya

  • Bayan Lepas
  • Balik Pulau
  • Teluk Bahang
  • Batu Maung
  • Bayan Baru
  • Gertak Sanggul
  • Pantai Acheh
  • Permatang Damar Laut
  • Teluk Kumbar
  • Teluk Tempoyak

Update: Mukim 12 is still under CMCO until 19 November 2020, hence the roadblock at certain places (Balik Pulau). Residents in Mukim 12 are to comply to the SOP, meaning no movements to other CMCO areas without valid documents.

#3 Seberang Perai Utara

Photo: Penang Judiciary Department
  • Penaga
  • Bertam
  • Pinang Tunggal
  • Teluk Ayer Tawar
  • Sungai Dua
  • Permatang Berangan
  • Sungai Puyu
  • Bagan Jermal
  • Bagan Dalam
  • Kepala Batas
  • Tasek Gelugor

#4 Seberang Perai Tengah

Photo: SPT Penang
  • Permatang Pauh
  • Permatang Pasir
  • Seberang Jaya
  • Bukit Mertajam
  • Penanti
  • Berapit
  • Machang Bubuk
  • Padang Lalang
  • Bukit Tengah
  • Perai
  • Juru
  • Alma

#5 Seberang Perai Selatan

Photo: SPS Penang
  • Bandar Nibong Tebal
  • Bandar Sungai Bakap
  • Kampung Seberang Tasik
  • Kampung Tasek Chempedak
  • Simpang Ampat
  • Jalan Badak Mati
  • Sungai Duri
  • Jawi
  • Jalan Bukit Panchor
  • Sungai Jawi
  • USM, Jalan Permatang Tok Mahat
  • Sungai Acheh
  • Changkat
  • Kawasan Perindustrian Valdor
  • Batu Kawan
  • Bukit Tambun
  • Bandar Tasek Mutiara

How to Apply for Inter-District Travel from PDRM:

Now that you understand the different districts in Penang, what next? While we strongly encourage you guys to stay home, some might need to cross CMCO areas for important reasons. So here’s a straightforward guide on how to get a permit from PDRM (Police Diraja Malaysia). IMPORTANT: You will only need to apply for this permit if you don’t have any authorization letter from work.

  1. Fill up the form (attached above) in 2 copies.
  2. Attach 2 copies of your identity card, 2 copies of the identity card of the other occupant in your vehicle (if there is one), 2 copies of any supporting letters or documents.
  3. Drive to your nearest police station and hand in the form. If everything is in order, approval will be given on the spot.
  4. The police will keep a copy of the above forms, IC and documents.

*PDF version of the form:

Note: You don’t need to apply for this permit if you have emergency cases or accidents that requires treatment at a nearby hospital/ clinic. Likewise, if you have a medical appointment, just show the appointment card or letter.

EXTRA: Detailed SOP of CMCO (DOs and DON’Ts)

Photo: MKN
Photo: MKN

Foodies, we hope of all you are coping and doing okay. While it’s hard, let us all stay strong and do our part in the fight of COVID-19. Stay at home and only go out if necessary, always comply to SOP and wear a face mask. Stay safe, have a great day ahead and buh bye!

More information:

Check Out: TGI Fridays Malaysia Is Offering 40% Off On All Items For 1 Day Only

We would like to invite you to join our New Private Community Group! Here you are free to ask questions, share your love for food, and explore the Penang community! We will also regularly post about casual promos and latest findings.

Click on the button below and hunt good food with us today!




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button